Book One: The Bloodbound

Of all those in the King of Alden’s retinue, the bloodbinders are the most prized. The magic they wield can forge invaluable weapons, ones that make soldiers like Lady Alix Black unerringly lethal. However, the bloodbinders’ powers can do so much more—and so much worse…

A cunning and impetuous scout, Alix only wishes to serve quietly on the edges of the action. But when the king is betrayed by his own brother and left to die at the hands of attacking Oridian forces, she winds up single-handedly saving her sovereign.

Suddenly, she is head of the king’s personal guard, an honor made all the more dubious by the king’s exile from his own court. Surrounded by enemies, Alix must help him reclaim his crown, all the while attempting to repel the relentless tide of invaders led by the Priest, most feared of Oridia’s lords.

But while Alix’s king commands her duty, both he and a fellow scout lay claim to her heart. And when the time comes, she may need to choose between the two men who need her most…

ISBN-10: 0425272680
ISBN-13: 9780425272688

“Sturdy characterizations and intriguing magic anchor this solid series launch, the first fantasy novel for Lindsey…[by the end] Lindsey’s mostly balanced mix of romance and heroic fantasy will have captured readers’ hearts.” -Publisher’s Weekly

“A traditional fantasy epic with a delightfully contemporary twist…THE BLOODBOUND is one of the most enjoyable fantasies I’ve read in a long time… It provides all the high fantasy comfort we love, but with fresh, high quality ingredients and contemporary presentation. THE BLOODBOUND is the gastropub of high fantasy…[It is] – in its own right, a blast: a fun, fast, invigorating and inspiring book, packed to the gills with tension, heroics, twists and adventure. And, more than that, it is also a symbol of something more: an epic fantasy with all the scale and excitement readers demand, but infused with a casual modernity.” -Pornokitsch

“[An] adventure story of kingly betrayal and intrigue, [with] a nicely executed romance to complicate matters… a strong novel that will remind readers of Elizabeth Moon’s The Deeds of Paksinarrion with its simple, but elegant story telling.” -Staffer’s Book Review

“Full of witty banter, immensely likable characters, and swoons aplenty, THE BLOODBOUND by Erin Lindsey is not to be missed. There’s something for fans of both Romance and Fantasy, and I can’t wait to see what Lindsey has for us next.” -Rabid Reads

“THE BLOODBOUND offers romance, intrigue, and a fast moving plot that will immerse readers in this new world…Blending all the hallmarks of sword and sorcery with the modern, romantic feel of urban fantasy, THE BLOODBOUND is an effortless adventure that will sweep readers away.” -All Things Urban Fantasy

“This exciting and enthralling tale provides a delicious adventure that centers around a strong, opinionated female, and a war-torn land that features both mystical and pragmatic elements…those who enjoy tales of bravery and loyalty mixed with a little chaos and magic will be delighted to find a fun and exciting adventure to read.” -Night Owl Reviews

“Lindsey does a fine job of building tension as in the narrative and while I was hooked into the novel early on, I felt much more invested and glued to the page as the novel progressed. I genuinely liked the characters and want to read more about them. In a genre landscape where darkness in characters and grimdark tone seem to be rather prevalent, THE BLOODBOUND was a refreshing change from that.” -SFF World

“THE BLOODBOUND is an epic high fantasy with a captivating world, interesting characters, and non-stop action. The plot had some interesting twists and was full of great suspense that keeps you interested throughout the whole story…This was a terrific high fantasy and I would highly recommend it to all fans of the genre.” -Dark Faerie Tales

Save

Save